Dinner for one

I ate your dinner out of spite

for you came home late the other night

and on your shoulder I could see

a make up smudge, but not from me.

So tell me, who’s this mystery blond

at whom you’ve waved your magic wand?

And does she know what she is getting?

(Not at all, I don’t mind betting).

For despite your charm and kind demeanour

(we know that hindsight’s always keener)

You really are not such a catch

In fact, you don’t come up to scratch.

You’re lazy, mean and bad in bed

And many times I’ve wished you dead.

But I no longer need to wonder

where you are (and who you’re under)

As you can see, I didn’t eat

your favourite pud, made as a treat.

so help yourself, I dare you to.

Because I dipped it in the loo.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dinner for one

  1. Serious subject matter, but laugh out loud funny. I didn’t know you were a gifted poet, Colette. Another one of your many talents. 🙂

    • painterswife says:

      Oh I’m so not! this is only the second time it’s happened to me – but since Sunday I have not been able to stop these nonsense rhymes – I must have about 20 by now and they just keep popping into my head – it’s annoying and amusing at the same time!

      • It’s your muse at work. My poetry was like that from the time I was 12 until last year when I was seriously ill. It went away and I missed it terribly. Now it’s coming back in little spurts. I do hope you post more. I truly love this one. 🙂

  2. Angela says:

    Love it!

  3. Naomi Walsh says:

    Very good….hope it’s not about the painter…and your ok

  4. ABSOLUTELY FABBYDABBYDOOBILOUS! You have talent. LIKE 🙂

  5. Anna says:

    Is it about my ex husband?

  6. a.h.richards says:

    Brilliant! Unfolds like a murder mystery, until the final word. Them’s pretty cool dolls too. 🙂

Tell me what you think

