Humble beginnings…

Humble beginnings...

I keep on modifying my doll body pattern. Partly this is because I want each one to be different and partly it’s because I’m not sure exactly what I’m aiming for. I know I don’t want to do ‘production line’ dolls, I want something more special, but I also don’t want to lose the primitive quality of the rag doll, which should, after all, be made from scraps. Another important thing (I think) about cloth dolls is that you should want to touch them. I know that the more fragile ones can’t really be safely played with by littluns, but I remember having beautiful and relatively fragile dolls and toys when I was quite young. I loved them, could be trusted not to injure myself with them, and I don’t think I ever broke them. So it’s important to me in the evolution of my dolls, that they are not only decorative but accessible. That’s the end of my stream of conciousness for today!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Humble beginnings…

  1. vivjm says:

    I am so with you on the touching thing. Cloth dolls are tactile objects and need to be held!

  2. painterswife says:

    Definitely – as are human beings!

Tell me what you think

