Bronze Age Revisited

Bronze Age Revisited

I just love rings. I like all types of jewellery, but rings are definitely the best. I made this little ring from three faceted amethysts wrapped in bronze. Although beautiful, bronze is extremely hard to work with. I couldn’t resist its colour with the dark amethysts though, so it had to be done, and I’m sure it’ll look great on, once my hands recover!

Image | This entry was posted in Jewellery (or jewelry if you are American) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bronze Age Revisited

  1. I always enjoy visiting here. You’re so multi-talented.

  2. artsygenius says:

    What a lovely ring! Ha you made anything similar with copper? Did this require torching or a kiln? Or is it simply filed after wrapping?

    • painterswife says:

      Hi artsygenius – the answer is yes, I’ve made this in copper, silver, gold fill even stainless steel as well as bronze. The bronze and the stainless steel were really hard work. No torch required, just wire wrapping, so strong hands and a good pair of pliers! And yes, the tail is well filed down after wrapping. Thank you for commenting – I’m coming over to your place now to have a look around!

  3. artsygenius says:

    It’s funny. Today I was teaching someone how to wire wrap and she brought me some very hard wire that she wanted me to wrap around a button. It was so stiff I hurt my thumb and had to switch to working with my other hand. Here’s the last piece I wrapped for her.
    http://artsygenius.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/wire-wrapped-czech-buttons/

Tell me what you think

